Friday, Aug. 26, 2022

You know who doesn’t do quiet quitting”? The two electricians we had in our house a week ago who knocked out four jobs in a row as quickly and cleanly as they could. They broke for lunch and that was the only time they weren’t working.

Ezra Klein re-ran this interview with C. Thi Nguyen, author of Games: Agency as Art and it’s like pulling your head out of The Matrix to see the metrics, scores, and games designed into so many systems around us. The reason it’s so rare to find nuanced discussion on Twitter is that it’s designed out of it. I don’t know if this episode is what prompted me to step away from looking at Twitter so much, but it helped. It’s probably why I started this blog at all: just to have a place 1) to spout off, 2) that has regular HTML pages and hyperlinks (unlike my dear wiki), and 3) that has no mechanism for instant feedback or ways for me to tell who saw any of it.

I keep thinking about how much better off the world would be if we all had our own standalone blogs and didn’t have like-driven social media platforms. The answer is a lot”. We would be a lot better off.

Mac Power Users #654: Data Storage in 2022 reminded me that plain spinning hard drives are a good, cheap, spacious alternative to SSDs when you need a backup-only drive.


Date
August 26, 2022