En Attendant Ana at Fuzzy Cactus

En Attendant Ana on stage at Fuzzy Cactus in Richmond, Virginia

En Attendant Ana at Fuzzy Cactus, May 25, 2023

I’m still thinking about how great En Attendant Ana were at the Fuzzy Cactus last Thursday. They mostly played songs from their latest record, Principia. Other than those, I most wanted to hear Do You Understand?” from Juillet, which they played. I wish I’d taken notes about the setlist, but they didn’t leave out any of my favorites. At times, they were so tight and hyper-good at their instruments that it was overwhelming and made me want to be great at something. In moments like that, I believe that the band in front of you, doing their thing better than anyone else, can be The Best Band in the World. They closed with Wonder” and then the encore was I’m a Man You Don’t Meet Every Day” by The Pogues.

I brought the Leica M2 with the Voigtlander f/2 Ultron and I was glad I did, because the lighting was so low that I had to shoot at 1/2 second at f/2 with Tri-X 400. Plus, we were lucky enough to be right up front with an unobstructed view of the whole band. We’ll see if anything came out when I process the film.

After it was over, we went to the merch table where Margaux and Camille were selling CDs, albums, and t-shirts. I bought a large shirt and the vinyl copy of their Lost and Found” record. We thanked them for coming. This show was a gift!


Tags
music

Date
May 28, 2023