Jumping between org-journal entries

I go hot and cold on org-journal, and when I get into it I build up quite a history in it, especially after settling on the monthly file format (like 2023-06.org) as the one that fits my brain the best. I like how even if you’re not in Emacs, it’s easy to scroll through and scan the days with your eyes, and the entry metadata makes for a nice header:

#+TITLE: 2022 February

* Friday, 04 February 2022
:PROPERTIES:
:CREATED:  2022-02-04
:END:

Worked on-site. Ate lunch w/Josh and Kathy.

* Sunday, 06 February 2022
:PROPERTIES:
:CREATED:  2022-02-06
:END:

Finally got `consult-ripgrep` working in Doom Emacs for org-mode files thanks to help from Jack.

Washed more dishes. Watched part of an old Psych with SH. Ate a small lunch of leftover falafel and 1/2 a bun.

But I didn’t feel nimble in it when I was in Emacs. You can do consult-org-heading to jump to any heading when you’re in a monthly org-journal file (or any org-mode file), but if you have subheadings, you’re going to wade through those, too. And you can navigate through headings in other ways in org-mode, but the nicest org-journal way is with org-journal-next-entry (C-n) and org-journal-previous-entry (C-p), because it jumps you back and forth by whole days, switches you between files when necessary, and collapses all but the one day you’re looking at:

#+TITLE: 2022 February

* Friday, 04 February 2022
:PROPERTIES:
:CREATED:  2022-02-04
:END:

Worked on-site. Ate lunch w/Josh and Kathy.

* Sunday, 06 February 2022 ...
* Monday, 07 February 2022 ...

I still don’t have a good convention for what goes in org-journal entries vs. daybook.org, events.org, or Day One, but every little bit of friction I can remove from Emacs helps. Using org-journal to browse around its own entries as nature intended also helps me step away from the crazy idea of including all the org-journal files in org-agenda.



Date
June 18, 2023