Using the tool is the cure for thinking about the tool

I spent most of my waking free time this weekend (so far) researching clothes dryers. I used The Archive to collect manufacturers, model numbers, prices, vendor URLs, reviews, and Reddit recommendations and horror stories. All that stuff gets written to a file in my trusty folder of Markdown notes. Zero effort to edit on the MacBook, easy to update and refer to on 1Writer on the iPhone. I thought for a couple of seconds about using org-mode for it, but in this case, I needed ubiquitous, easy access from everywhere. I never second-guessed it once I got started! Markdown is imperfect and not as good or fun as org-mode, but fine for this job. I just needed the momentum of doing something with a tool to (temporarily) get over thinking about which tool to use.



Date
July 2, 2023