Capture One 23 Pro and Fujifilm X100T experiments

After not touching Capture One in over nine months, it seemed like a good time to dip back in. I’m still a subscriber to one of their plans (it’s hard to know which one), but whatever I’m on allowed me to upgrade to v23 (confusingly also known as Build 16.2.5.9). I hate to admit it, but I’m going to need to keep C1 around just because it still deals with X-Trans sensor files better than both Lightroom Classic and Lightroom (CC).

Here’s what I’m trying today for color RAW (.RAF) files from the Fujifilm X100T, and it seems to work:

  1. Import with no adjustments
  2. Auto-adjust (limited to: White Balance, Exposure, Contrast and Brightness, and Levels)
  3. Apply one of these two Digistock Imperfect Kodachrome Pack filters, depending on the look you like and what the available light was:
    • Grain: K25B - Classic
    • Grain: K64B - Classic

I went back and forth on whether to use the Clean vs. Grain styles. I ended up going with the Grain versions because when I can’t help myself and I pixel-peep, Digistock’s formula for grain (and what C1 makes possible for grain in general) does something that results in more than just adding grain”. I don’t know what it is, and I know it’s not real, but I like it.

Here’s the original Classic Chrome JPEG from the X100T. Overexposed, with unrecoverable highlights. I couldn’t save it:
original Classic Chrome JPEG from the X100T

Unprocessed RAW file. Too intense and green. Hard on the eyes:
Unprocessed RAW file

Auto-adjust > Grain: K25B - Classic. Now we’re getting somewhere:
Auto-adjust > Grain: K25B - Classic

Auto-adjust > Grain: K64B - Classic. This is very close to Fujifilm’s Classic Chrome look, when everything works right:
Auto-adjust > Grain: K64B - Classic



Date
October 7, 2023