Not Sure I’ve Helped Things with the Markdown Kanban

That recent post about the digital Kanban — I’m already not sure about it. The Kanban list of targeted outcomes for the week is getting polluted with a bunch of next actions. I keep looking at all the places I write things down in order to know what to do next: The digital calendar, today’s page in my spiral notebook, this new Kanban section, and the project headings and tasks further down in the file. There’s duplication of some things between all of those buckets and it’s wasting time and causing too much waffling about where to put stuff. Why does everything need to go on a paper list first? Can’t I just rely on that weekly Markdown file if I keep it lean enough? Am I supposed to be moving tasks out from under the project headings and into the Todo/Doing/Done parts of the Kanban? Is it better to copy tasks to multiple parts of that document? Which stuff am I really, really working on at any particular time? Where do I put things that I know I’m not going to start until tomorrow or 3 days from now? Do I resist the urge to tack on some todo-parsing plugin to the text editor? How do I work on five things in the Doing column at one time when I’m only one person? What have I done here?


Tags
kanban work

Date
February 28, 2024